FITA : The Stage Play Interview with Rebecca Elizabeth Hollingworth (Corrine Foxworth)

image

Rebecca  Elizabeth Hollingsworth has been cast in the iconic role of Corrine Foxworth – for Lorraine Elgar of AtticSecrets , this was the interview she was waiting for – having a weird love of Corrine despite her role as the ultimate Villian and the anti mother ….

so here it is , an amazing catch up with Mommy Dearest 😉

Hey Rebecca , firstly tell us a little bit about yourself

My name is Rebecca Elizabeth Hollingsworth. I’m a native to New Orleans and have been on stage since I was (literally) in the womb.  I attended NOCCA, Duke Ellington School of the Arts, and received my BA in Theatre Arts from Loyola University New Orleans. I’m a company member of Lux et Umbra and the film collective Elysian Field Independent. I am also the cofounder of Bonafried, a food truck I manage with my incredible fiancée, Stephen Maher.

 
Have you read the book ?
I have not yet finished the book but I did grow up watching the original film. However, from what I have read there are  many differences between the book and the stage play. One major difference is that the entirety of the piece takes place within the attic from the moment the Dollangangers enter until the moment they leave. This creates a kind of claustrophobia for the audience as well as the actors.

What do you think of it ?
As a newcomer to the book, I am thoroughly enjoying reading it. The imagery in the book is so beautiful. I can see why there is such a huge following!

 
What is your personal opinion of Corrine ?
Ooh, that is a tough one! I think Corinne is an opportunist and sees herself as a victim.  

 

 
Why do you think she did what she did ?
I could write an entire book this! Oh wait, V.C. Andrews already did! But here is my take on the subject, without giving the ending away:

 In order to uphold the level of wealth and social stature the Foxworth’s possess, the family must maintain a certain image. This creates a divide between real living and the veneer they have cultivated. Being raised in that world breeds a liar. The only person Corinne is honest with is Chris. Chris was her salvation and he dies. While extremely vulnerable, she is thrust back into the environment that bred every horrible thing in her with no means to support four children. From that point, Corinne forms plan after plan (for what she believes is to the Dresden Dolls’ benefit), trying keep herself sane. However, once they turn on her, they become dangerous. In her mind there is no other option.

 
How does it feel to be in the world premiere of such an iconic story ?
There is a large responsibility that comes with performing a piece beloved by so many people. That being said, I am thrilled, honored, and up for the challenge!

Leave a Reply

