The Legacy of fans

image

Last week , I touched on the fans continuing Virginia s legacy through their creativity and passion.

However, there was one member of the VCA fandom I didnt mention as she totally deserves her own post ….. Jules !
Many of the Attic Secrets members know her as her twitter handle Corrine Foxworth II and have raved , not only about her fantastic artwork, but due to her hilarious ” Corrine-isms”

image

image

image

Jules has been a passionate supporter of the VCA legacy for over ten years and is still going strong when many sites have gone to the garden in the sky 😦

You see , before Facebook, Twitter and Blogger , VCA fans would have to create their own websites and share on webrings to get their passion, creativity and theories out there . Geocities was the way to do that.

Jules was a huge part of that movement, creating her own site and she’s kindly agreed to take me on a very nostalgic trip down memory lane sharing her archives of the many amazing sites that I always wished I had the knowledge and talent to create ……..

Luckily , not only has Jules managed to preserve her site in the archives but also generously shared with us  screen shots of some of the sites so we can see just truly how magical they were :

Imagine strolling through Whitefern Village with the Adares as this site enabled you to do

image

A fandom of Broken Flowers

image

Being able to share with pride which character you loved …..

image

Imagine a fandom where you could adopt your own Cathy, Heaven or Audrina……

image

Back then fans would assign themselves a character doppelganger such as Cindy Sheffield or Heaven Leigh and the yahoo webrings would take you into a vca wonderland .

Names such as Attic Sanctuary , The Garden in the Sky and Attic of Evil Grannies showed just how much love their was out there for VCA and her characters and the new GW characters such as Dawn and Ruby.

One site Jules has managed to store info on was Heavens Light and these screen shots show just how much hard work and effort was put into these sites

image

image

Imagine a cyber space full of lost information and creativity…. thats where these sites are now 😦

They were also incredibly informative , some containing amazing family photos and artwork – luckily we can thank The Complete VCA for managing to salvage a lot of this info which is now on her site along with International VCA covers before they completely dissapeard

image

Jules explains :

“it was sad that the Geocities closing in 2010 ended most of those websites and the webrings”

Its wonderful that Jules managed to continue with her passion despite this and has found an outlet for it on deviantart, instagram and twitter to name a few sites.
Shes a ferocious as a mommy tiger with her cubs when it comes to VCA legacy and she still finds the goods – most recently the amazing Dolls House pictures which Virginia wrote the introduction to and which in turn inspired her to write My Sweet Audrina.

image

I often share Jules work on Attic Secrets  because she truly is what a VCA fan is all about 

Neisha Chetty says of Jules :

  I know Jules is one of the most strongest supporters of VCA. In fact ask Jules how we first met. Jules was the first person to actually ever support me. She used to have a tumblr page. It was early 2013, this was some six months before we met, Lorraine. She was the first person to inspire me to do more and fight harder. I owe her a lot. I just wish she would come here as well.

Message from Jules: I honored your VC Andrews analysis on my page
Neisha,
The best Dollaganger saga thesis I’ve ever read and I’ve read all of them, you get it

It shows her love for VCA, . I truly owe her a lot. “

In fact it was Jules who insisted that,  before I do a full blog on her fanart and Corrine -isms , which really should have its own website , I should really blog about the hardest working fans before social media who s hard work literally dissapeard one day in 2010 ……..

So , ending with a name call , if I ve missed any one I am so sorry but if you are here give us a shout x

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

We re lucky a lot of these fans went on like Jules to create more – forums like the Lost angels of VCA and blogs are now the way to share the creativity and love of all things VCA ….but man , I truly miss these first sites , so I want to give a huge thanks to the creators of these for many happy years of discovery.

And of course a huge thanks to Jules for all her help and expertise in compiling this blog

5 Comments Add yours

  1. jncahill says:

    As a teen and young adult, I had a website for a VCA themed roleplay (as well as other fan stuff) called Entwined Hearts. A friend had a similar one called Cypress Woods. While both roleplaying groups are still on Yahoo Groups (but sadly unactive), when Geocities shut down, we lost everything (I might have banners somewhere).

    Very nice to see some familiar banners. Sometimes I miss the old web! I remember most of these!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks jncahill – I actually remember both groups 🙂 I loved looking back at all the old sites and chatting with Jules about them. I can’t believe everything was lost 😦 all that hard work xxx

      Like

      1. Also if you find any banners we d love to see them and share xx

        Like

  2. jncahill says:

    The groups are actually still there, just abandoned. One day I’d like to go through all the messages and put together a sort of summary of what happened. Will probably be a lot of work.

    Anyway, I found some banners. Not the old original ones, though I may have those on a CD somewhere (maybe). But the last made banner for Cypress Woods: https://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/9544350/homepage/name/496528.jpg?type=hr

    Last banner for Entwined Hearts: https://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/9393555/homepage/name/474285.jpg?type=hr

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would be amazing! Thank you for sharing these I spent many hours pouring over these sites and wished I could be as talented as their authors

      Like

Leave a Reply

